Today we are excited to start the roll-out of two more ways that Lookout Mobile Security for Android can help you recover your stolen or lost device and better protect your mobile privacy. Download the latest version of Lookout from Google Play.
Protect Your Device From Prying Eyes
Lock Cam is a free feature that notifies you if anyone tries to access your device, whether it has been stolen, or if someone else may be trying to take a peek when you’re not around.
Lock Cam takes a picture of anyone who enters an incorrect password three times into your Android lock screen with the front-facing camera on your device. You’ll then receive an email with the picture and the location of your device, giving you valuable information about who tried to access your device and where it happened. You can then use this information to take steps to further protect your device, like changing or strengthening your password.
We will roll out Lock Cam to our existing users over the next week. Premium users will have access to Lock Cam immediately. To enable Lock Cam, go to “Settings” in your Lookout app to make sure you have Advanced Protection AND Lock Cam enabled.
Please note that Lock Cam is currently only available in English and will only work if your device has:
- a front-facing camera
- Android 2.3+
- the Android lock screen enabled.
To see Lock Cam in action, check out this video! And remember, the best thing you can do to secure your device and data from intruders is to set up your device’s lock screen!
Help Lost Devices Return Home
People lose a phone on average once per year, and many don’t get it back. Premium users can now add a customized message of up to 300 characters to your Lookout Lock screen, so if your device is lost, you can help whoever finds it return it quickly.
English-speaking Lookout Premium users can access this feature by logging into Lookout.com from another smartphone or computer, clicking the “Missing Device Tab” and selecting “Lock”.
If you don’t have a Lookout Premium subscription yet, the ability to Lock down the personal information on your lost device is a great reason to upgrade!
For those of you who like to try before you buy, you can also sign up for our free, one-time Lookout Premium trial. Get all the benefits of Lookout Premium for 14 days with no credit card required!
Have you ever had a phone stolen or caught someone looking at your phone? Do you think these features will help you?